Memories and Music


Music from the album, © 1973

Ila Mae Dees Andersen created her signature style of playing the Appalachian dulcimer in the 1960s. Her style wove in harmonies and a unique method of chording and picking individual strings — using a feather — rather than just strumming the three-stringed instrument. Because she was a singer, she created her playing style to accompany her songs rather than providing melody.

She played all over the Denver area, and she performed weekends at the elegant Beaver Brook Lodge & Restaurant in Evergreen, Colorado. During that time, she recorded the album “Ila” in 1973.

We share the songs from “Ila” here so all can enjoy them. We invite you to share this with others who may enjoy Mom’s music.

May our Mom’s music, artistry, and light carry on.
With love from her kids,

Kara Andersen Stewart, Kurt Andersen, Kris Andersen, Karl Andersen

Ila Album Playlist

01 - I Know Where I’m Going

02 - House of the Rising Sun

03 - Frog Went a Courtin’

04 - Pretty Polly

05- Little Boxes

06 - Shady Grove

07 - Where Does it Lead?

08 - Johnny I Hardly Knew You

09 - The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

10 - The Weaving Is All Your Own

11 - Whistle Daughter Whistle

12 - Wedding Song

13 - Simple Gifts

14 - In the Hills of Shiloh

15 - Old Joe Clark

16 - Scarlet Ribbons

17 - Women’s Liberation

Album credits © 1973

Ila’s dulcimer maker: Alan Pedigo
Photographer: Ron Ruhoff
Recorded at: Audiocom Corporation Studios
Engineer: Tom Virtue

Thank you to Eric Van der Wyk at King Tet Productions for the masterful conversion of “Ila”’s album to digital format. He truly captured her beautiful voice and distinctive sound and depth playing the dulcimer.